Jabbo Five

Jabbo Five

The Jabbo Five, formed in May 2010, was set up with the express purpose of playing in the style of Jabbo Smith, hence the name Dave Martin's Jabbo Five.

The line-up of cornet/trumpet/valve trombone, clarinet/saxophone, banjo/guitar, sousaphone and piano allows an exciting, lively and uncluttered interpretation of the music of Jabbo Smith and his Rhythm Aces, who recorded 22 tracks in 1929.

After this outpouring of exuberance, which, at the time, rivalled the brilliance of Armstrong's Hot Five, Jabbo faded into obscurity. Re-discovering these tracks is an exciting adventure for the band.

Dave Martin is the leader and plays cornet, trumpet and valve trombone. He has been active on the music scene in Devon since the mid-1980s, being a founding member of a six piece outfit, known as the City Steam Jazz Band, and more recently joining another local Devon band called Hogsnort.

Nick White studied at Chetham’s School of Music, Worcester College Oxford, and the Guildhall School of Music & Drama where he had clarinet lessons with Thea King, Roy Jowitt and Colin Lawson.

Pianist Phil Blandford is classically trained with a degree in Music from Bristol University. He has been active on the Bristol Scene for over 20 years, playing regularly with Henry Davies' Hot Six and Dennis Armstrong's Bristol Blue Five.

Mike Lancaster plays sousaphone and trombone and gained his experience as a tuba and trombone player with the Royal Air Force.

There is now no regular banjo player but the band can call on the likes of Sarah Thatcher, John Whitlock, Johnny Baker and David Jones.